Deutschland here we come!

Joe has done it! He’s realized his dream of securing a teaching job at an international school. It took a long process of applying and interviewing with different schools across the globe, but we received two concrete job offers one week ago from Shanghai, China and Ulm, Germany. After really hashing it out over the weekend, we have decided to accept the offer from the International School of Ulm to teach second grade for the 2013-14 school year.

Now begins the long process of figuring out how to pack, sell our house, and make a new home for our family on a different continent. I’m hoping to use this blog as a means to document our journey and to share with friends what we experience. And maybe in a decade or more our two children will enjoy reading back over the details of this year for which they were too young to even remember.

2 thoughts on “Deutschland here we come!

  1. You are going to love Germany! It was my home for many years and I miss it. We will need to get together before you all leave. I’m happy you all are going on this adventure. Please give us a call soon. ~ Shana

  2. Wow, I just found out from your mom {via my blog mauigirlcooks} that you are blogging from Germany. How exciting! You & I only met a few times, mostly at the Poulsbo Library, but I worked with Joe at EH. I just perused a bit of your blog & became a follower. I can’t wait to read about all of your adventures in your new home. Say “hi” to Joe.

Leave a Reply

