Baking in Germany

When I found out I’d be a stay-at-home mom here in Germany, I imagined myself having time to do more baking. Homemade muffins and healthy after-school snacks? Sure, you bet!

The reality turned out to be quite different. We’re much busier than I thought we’d be with just the basic cooking, cleaning, errands, and childcare.  I have so far managed to make one batch of muffins (so-so) and one apple cake (tasty but not the right texture).

Today, I attempted some American-style chewy chocolate chip cookies.

First baking conundrum: the flour. German flour is labelled by the grain used (spelt and rye flours are more readily available) and by how finely ground and refined it is. #1600 flour is whole grain, and the lower the number the less of the bran remains. Some internet searching helped me to understand that the most commonly used flour (labelled as #450) is similar to American cake flour. The flour I used was #550. Also, you must sift the heck out of it. I sifted once before measuring, and once after.

DSC_0207

Then there’s the issue of leavening agents.  Here are my options:

DSC_0213

German baking powder (on the left) is single-acting, rather than double-acting like we have in America. Thanks to Mom’s visit, I have a can of American double-acting baking powder as well. But my cookie recipe asks for baking soda. Arm & Hammer uses 100% sodium bicarbonate. That’s not available in Germany, but we do have a similar product called Natron. It’s only 17% pure baking soda, but apparently can be subsituted for many of baking soda’s purposes. We’ll see how it turns out.

Then comes the math. I had to pull out my calculator to figure out how much 1 cup of butter equals in grams (it’s 227, by the way). German butter comes in 250g rectangles, so I did my best guess to measure the right amount.

DSC_0182

Also, salted butter is rare in Germany. They categorize the butter as Süßrahmbutter (literally “sweet cream butter”) or Mildgesäuerte Butter (cultured, slightly tangy butter). I use the sweet cream one for baking.

Granulated white sugar is called Fein Zucker here. I had heard that brown sugar wasn’t available, but when I saw this package, I took a chance and bought some.

DSC_0187

Looks promising, right? The contents weren’t the moist, caramelly-flavor that I was hoping for however. Seems like Brauner Zucker is a bit more like a dark version of Demerara or raw sugar.

DSC_0185

So here’s how to make American-style brown sugar:

DSC_0188

White sugar and molasses. Who knew? Well, probably many people, but I sure never knew before.

DSC_0196

Dollop some of the molasses onto the white sugar and then stir to blend. It seems like about 1 tablespoon for every 1/2 cup of sugar is about right, but it’s pretty easy to add a little more molasses or sugar if it seems to be either too light or dark.

DSC_0199

At first it seems like it’ll never come together, but just keep mixing.

DSC_0201

Ta da! Pretty good substitute for dark brown sugar. I’m not sure how to make light brown sugar, however. Maybe substitute some agave syrup or honey along with the molasses. Anyone know the answer to this one? I’d love some baking help in the comments.

DSC_0203

Luckily I was smart and packed some Imperial measuring cups and spoons in my suitcase. I don’t want to have to buy a kitchen scale or convert everything to mL and grams.

And Mom brought me some American chocolate chips in her suitcase. Thanks, Mom!

DSC_0216

Here’s what chocolate chips look like in Germany (fork included for scale):

DSC_0214

One box costs €2, and holds very little. The container at right is filled with 3 boxes. They have a very mild milk chocolate flavor. When I tried to put some in my muffins, we could hardly taste them. Some expat blogs recommend buying a better quality chocolate bar and chopping it yourself, but thanks to Mom’s care package, I didn’t have to try that this time.

DSC_0217

Looks promising…

DSC_0219

Yum!

It’s nice to have a taste of home, sometimes.

9 thoughts on “Baking in Germany

  1. Betsy: I love your blogs – well written & with the pictures, I can get a much better idea of your life there. With this one, I think you may be ready for cooking school for new expats.
    Luisa Weiss’ blog is wednesdaychef.com (author of “The Berlin Kitchen”). I found it interesting because it contained German recipes & ingredients only available in Germany. Thanks for sharing your experiences with us.
    Linda Hahn

  2. Yay you! I love your ability to try & figure it all out. Big points for concocting your own brown sugar. You really need to break down and get a scale. I use one more and more for baking myself-just so much faster to bung things in a bowl as I go. Ikea probably has a functional one that won’t break the bank. I also have friends who use the universal measuring beakers with ml and grams on the different sides. Good luck-I’ll poke around too and see if there’s any advice I stumble across.
    P.S. We use chopped up chocolate bars often if it’s what we have on hand-use a serated knife & work on parchment or a piece of paper (yum…now I want to go bake!)

    • All good ideas! I do most of those things when I bake back home, but we’re trying to keep it pretty simple here. Our kitchen’s tiny and storage is at a premium. I do have a liquid measuring cup that has lines for both Metric & Imperial, just not for the dry ingredients.
      There’s a ton of fresh quinces at the market here, and I heard a yummy sounding recipe for quince sauce on NPR this week, but I don’t have the requisite blender or food processor to make it. I’m trying to live with the bare minimum of kitchen gear, but I did splurge on some baking supplies like a muffin tin and rolling pin. So, we’ll see if I manage to do enough baking to warrant any further “luxuries”.
      Thanks for reading!

  3. I love your posts, Betsy, and know Mark reads them too, and we are supposed to send the link to Karen and thought we did but she said no we needed to do that the other day. I read it the first time on a tablet without pictures, and it is even more fun with the photos. Your mom will just have to make another trip to deliver things because you need them and can’t get them there. Is there still a commissary at Berchtesgaden that you and Joe could go? When I was in Salzburg in 1969-70 there was and our “house priest” was retired military and would take groups of students to it because so close. I never went but they would come back delighted after a visit with things they wanted and couldn’t find in Germany or Salzburg. Thanks for sharing your adventure with us. Sharon

Leave a Reply

